US States

CARB states

Thirteen states, mostly in the Northeast and Northwest. and the District of Columbia have adopted California's stricter emissions standards. These are Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington. Arizona adopted California's standards in 2008, but the state repealed them as soon as Governor Jan Brewer took office in January 2012.

Of the thirteen, nine have adopted the zero emmission vehicle (ZEV) mandate. These are Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island and Vermont.

To help meet these goals, and in other states, as well there are numermous and varied incentive programs. These vary from state to state and from region to region within states. Also, there are federal income tax credits for purchase or lease of new EVs.

Florida has more EVs registered in the state than any other except California. However, rather than adopting a plan to gradually reduce the number of gas stations, the legislature passed a bill which forbids local governments from restricting construction of new gas stations. It also does not allow local governments to require EV chargers be part of new fueling stations. This bill, HB 839 was signed into law by Governor Ron DeSantis in June, 2021.



nngs No New Gas Stations Banner Home Link
No new gas stations
No New Gas Stations Facebook group Link
No New Gas Stations Facebook Group